What Mommy Read: Little Bee

Little BeeLittle Bee by Chris Cleave

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Little Bee” was definitely out of my literary comfort zone, but I thought it was an excellent book. (read for Book Club)
I felt more connected to the parts told in Little Bee’s voice than those in Sarah’s. Little Bee just felt so much more “real” to me. And I am still amazed at how well Cleve (a white man) was able to tell the story from Little Bee’s point of view (a black female). Great writing. It was a very touching story. And so very heartbreaking.
My favorite quote: “We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, ‘I survived’.”

View all my reviews

1 Comment

Filed under My Projects

One response to “What Mommy Read: Little Bee

  1. Dylan2012

    I loved this book & enjoyed reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

