Trick-or-Treat {Costumes}

Halloween= costumes, trick-or-treating and loads of candy!

Last year was my daughter’s first Halloween and my middle child was almost 3 yrs old. I was thrilled to be able to dress them in coordinating costumes. My two little “creepy crawlies”…… 8-month-old Harper dressed as a ladybug (from Carter’s) and her big brother, Lincoln, dressed as a spider (from Pottery Barn Kids). My 13 yr old son, Dylan, decided not to coordinate with his much-younger siblings….which I was fine with since he was clearly old enough to voice his own opinion.

 

Months ago, I started brainstorming fun duos for this year. I had a few great ideas in mind… Little Red Riding Hood & the Wolf or Dorothy & the Tin Man or boy & girl garden gnomes….. However, something happened. Something unexpected. Something I wasn’t prepared for yet. It seems that Lincoln is now old enough to voice his own opinion (at not quite 4 yrs old).  He will be trick-or-treating in a Mario costume this year. Unfortunately, he absolutely refuses to wear the stick-on moustache 😦

As much as Lincoln tried to convince me to dress Harper as Luigi and as much as I wanted the two costumes to coordinate, I did not give in.

Harper will be an Iowa Hawkeye Cheerleader…and hopefully she’ll actually carry the pom-poms when it comes time to go door-to-door in our neighborhood.

Maybe they’ll let me dress them in coordinating costumes next year.

 

Who/What will your children be dressing as this Halloween?? Are you one of those amazing moms that makes costumes for your children? Or do you go the store-bought route?

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Seasonal & Holidays

One response to “Trick-or-Treat {Costumes}

  1. I love the spider … we have the same costume from a few years ago. My little one wore it today for a party and I loved it – I forgot how cute it is!

Leave a Reply

