DIY {skateboard} shelving

When we started decorating my teenage son’s bedroom, I looked to Pinterest and Pottery Barn Teen for inspiration. He didn’t want a “theme” bedroom.  We just wanted to incorporate his personality and interests.  When I saw this photo pinned from PBteen, I knew it was almost perfect for his bedroom. 

We liked the PBteen skateboard shelves, but they seemed to be missing something…. trucks and wheels and colorful designs. So, I decided to create our own spin on skateboard shelving.


Pin It

Materials I used per shelf:
* a skateboard (on sale at K-Mart)
* 2 “L” brackets (from a local hardware store)
* screws (from a local hardware store)

How-To:
* Screw each of the “L” brackets into the bottom of the skateboard just inside of the trucks.
* Locate studs in the wall.
* Screw the “L” brackets into the wall.

DONE!  Interesting, simple, and inexpensive (we made 2 shelves and ordered a pizza for the same price as one shelf from PBteen) shelving for him to display his artwork, pinewood derby cars, favorite Xbox games, hats, etc.

Linked to: Weekend Wrap Up Party at tatertots & jello, Saturday 7 Party at Positively Splendid, Tickled Pink at 504 Main, Friday Flair at WhipperBerry, Show and Tell Saturday at Be different Act normal, live laugh {linky} Thursday at Live Laugh Rowe, Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest, Transformation Thursday at The Shabby Creek Cottage, Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, Wednesday Wowsers at Oopsey Daisy, Uncommonly Yours at Uncommon Designs

8 Comments

Filed under My Projects

8 responses to “DIY {skateboard} shelving

  1. LOL!!! I DID finally get a bath last Sunday {to shave for church} but… sadly there was no bubbles OR wine. I have been SO busy that a quick shower is all I am getting… but I can’t complain because to shower in my OWN house is priceless! Seriously though, Thanks SO SO much for the super sweet words… it makes my day when a comment is more than “I love it” or “good job” SO THANK YOU!!!!!
    XOXO
    Andrea

  2. OH and I meant to tell you that the skateboard shelves are RAD AS HECK!! I can’t wait to have a lil boy and decorate with cutie boy stuff!!
    AWESOMEEEEEE

  3. Pingback: Reader Pinfluence

  4. Thanks so much for linking up at Live Laugh Linky! Hope you’ll stop by again this week.

  5. I absolutely LOVE this! What a fun and personal way to decorate! Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

  6. This looks fabulous! We really appreciate you sharing this at our link party and can’t wait to see what you are up to next week!

    Take care,

    Trish

  7. Pingback: 80 DIY Shelves for Your Home | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

Leave a Reply

