“Big girl” bedroom inspiration and the perfect {vintage} find

I am slowly but surely acquiring items to transform Harper’s bedroom from a minimally-decorated, pale pink and chocolate brown nursery to a  whimsical “big girl” room full of personality and charm with a vintage/shabby chic feel.

I had colors in mind….hot pink, light pink, soft lime, and aqua or turquoise. But I needed a visual. Gotta love Pinterest….found this fabulous color palette from The Inspired Bride.

I had decided on a solid color quilt with pattern/print pillows. But, I found this quilt at TJMaxx…fell in love with it… and decided to flip my design. Pictured with…turquoise and lime Ralph Lauren throw pillows (also from TJMaxx),  her one-year-old cake smash photo (photo by Kenzi Photography) in a 16×20 Mary Ann frame in dragonfruit from The Organic Bloom, and striped bicycle pillow.

The one thing that I definitely wanted her to have…. a vintage white iron bed frame. I have kept my eye out for one since she was born. I had almost given up hope and started talking myself into a reproduction. But….my fabulous mother came across one in a furniture resale shop this weekend and sent this photo via text.

Of course, I rushed right out to buy it….even though it won’t go into Harper’s bedroom for a few weeks. I will happily store it in the garage until after I paint and buy a twin mattress.

Now, I just need to buy paint…paint the room….buy a chandelier….paint our birdcage….order wall art….and put it all together. Check back for a post of her new bedroom in a few weeks. Until then, take a peak at the photos that have given me ideas and inspiration on my Harper’s “Big Girl” bedroom board on Pinterest.

xo,

Nicole

Leave a comment

Filed under Made Me Smile, My Projects

Leave a Reply

